I heart Craigslist

4 Jun

I was looking through the arts/craft section of Craigslist the other day and I saw a listing selling fabric scraps. This woman makes reenactment costumes and was selling her scraps. As many as you could take for $5! FIVE DOLLARS. Not per bag, IN ALL. And it was in the next town over! I was so there.

Look at my bounty! And it’s really nice fabric too. Normally I just buy cotton, so this gives me a nice mix of new materials. And I buy tons of pastels, so it was great to have some earth tones to work with too. Really, all I can use them for is small patchwork or doll clothes, but for five bucks I couldn’t pass it up.

The mom of the girl selling the fabric and I chit chatted while I went through everything, and she even found pieces she thought I would like, lol!  I told her about etsy and Blythe dolls, and suggested that her daughter get into that.  People make a killing off Blythe clothes, and since she’s used to sewing complicated garments anyway, why not?  I also gave her my blog url.  I wonder if they checked it out…

Unfortunately, these people smoked, so all the fabric smelled pretty bad. I washed it all, which caused the edges to fray like crazy. I’m working to separate the pieces and cut off the fringe, but it’s taking FOREVER. Does anyone have any tips on how to wash fabric without the ends freaking out?

4 Responses to “I heart Craigslist”

  1. The Queen of Fifty Cents June 5, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    Wow, just the thrill of going through all that stuff and seeing what you have would be worth five bucks! I wonder if washing them in lingerie bags, or even pillow cases, would minimize the fraying?

  2. Colleen (Silly Panda) June 5, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    Ooooh! I never thought about a pillow case or anything. I bet that would have helped. Thanks!

    Oh, and I went through BINS of fabric, and those bags are what I came home with. I got some really lovely finds. 🙂

  3. lilyeden June 5, 2008 at 2:22 pm #

    I am soooooo jealous of that fabric stash!!!! Way to go!

  4. craftycarolinagirl June 19, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    What a great find! Can’t wait to see what you make with it all.

Leave a Reply

