Cupcake Love

9 Jun

We had a dessert contest at work today, so of course I had to make my heart cupcakes. They came out pretty well; very very moist. Although… I think they might have been a little TOO moist! The confectionery sugar I sprinkled on top absorbed into the muffin overnight, so my little muffins looked like corn bread. 😦 Ah well. I think the sugar made them glossy though, which was kind of neat.

I didn’t win, but I learned a few tips for next year.

  • 1) The mini cupcakes went WAY faster than the larger ones, (even though I think the larger ones taste better) so whatever I make, make sure it’s small!
  • 2) Whatever I make should include chocolate somehow. Mine was the only dessert that didn’t! There was one cake that wasn’t chocolate, but it was topped with chocolate covered cherries. Not fair!
  • 3) You get points for presentation, so buy cute cups and recipe cards. Also write out whatever you did to make the dessert b/c you get points for preparation too! (Example, I cut those hearts out by hand.)
7 Responses to “Cupcake Love”

  1. lilyeden June 11, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    those look delish!! yummy, i love cupcakes!

  2. Amy June 20, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    4) Hire Amy to beat up these clowns who didn’t vote for you.

  3. Charlene June 21, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    To think – this all started when Sami got bored with the heart cupcakes and big sister, Colleen came to the rescue. They are now yours – the way brocolli bake is now mine.

  4. Charlene June 21, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    er, uh mine not mind…and love the mini cupcakes…happy first day of summer

  5. sillypanda June 24, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    Shelley: Cupcakes are the best!

    Amy: Insert non offensive ruff-n-tuff-n-stuff Puerto Rican joke? And how everyone will think we met in Miami just because you’re Hispanic and everyone up here is whiiiiiite.

    Mom: Haha yeah, I know! Sami is so bad at not getting bored with things!

  6. Little Sister September 2, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    no no no those are MY cupcakes πŸ™‚

  7. sillypanda September 2, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Haha you came up with the idea, I just made it WORK! :p

Leave a Reply

