Dryer Incident

25 Jun

A while ago I talked about an incident that happened over the weekend, but I never went into detail about it. Well, I just got around to editing the photos, so here goes. I hope you learn something new.

1. NEVER PUT A PEN IN THE DRYER. It was fine for the washer, but didn’t like the dryer much. It exploded everywhere! I was like OMG, WHAT DO I DO?  So I googled it.  We rent, so I did not want a ruined dryer.

Luckily, it was a load of darks, so the pen didn’t show up too much. (Although both pairs of my jeans have pen marks all over them now. They’re not messed up…it’s couture, right?)

2. The internet told me to try a mix of things.  I used rubbing alcohol, nail polish remover, and bleach.  The bleach didn’t do anything, the alcohol didn’t do much, but the big winner was the nail polish remover!  Oh man oh man did my basement smell!  I got light headed after a while.  Not fun.

3. Most of the obvious marks were gone, and the remaining ones were pretty light.  The drum had a blue hue though…  So I read a little more, and running towels drenched in bleach a couple times through the dryer would help.  And you know what, it really did!  I don’t know why, since the bleach had so little effect before, but whatever!  I didn’t take pictures of it, but I assure you, the dryer is much less blue than photographed above.  John’s mom said she never would have known a pen blew up in it if I hadn’t told her.

4. My shorts were also sacrificed in the process.  Stupid bleach!  Stupid me for not changing into crappy clothes!  I guess I was just in panic mode and not paying attention.

So, lesson learned.  Make John clean it next time he leaves a pen in his pocket. Check pockets before washing pants.

4 Responses to “Dryer Incident”

  1. Charlene June 27, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    OMG!!! I cannot believe the mess – and how smart of you to go through all those ideas and find one that worked!! Dad left his wallet in his pants when we were first married and I washed it. He was very mad. I was very – helllloooo – empty your pockets buddy! Suffice it to say – 33 years later and it is my job to check pockets of all family members. SIGH (oh, just thought of something – that’s how I get the wrinkles out of my clothes – putting them in your dryer – hope they’ll be ok…er, uh…)

    And…toooo funny about Dune and the Orange Cat – next blog – love the photo capturing the standoff. I wonder what will happen when I’m having my morning coffee – outside with Dune – and the Orange cat appears on the fence? YIKES!!!

    Can’t wait for Saturday! So looking forward to seeing you all! 🙂

  2. sillypanda June 27, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    You used to find money in my pockets!

  3. Angel's Kisses August 27, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    Aw, man!!! I ran into a similar incident about a week ago when my husband had left RED CHEWING GUM in a pocket. Of course, none of his things, or my things got hurt… but a WHOLE LOAD of our son’s towels, blankets, sheets and clothes sure did! Not to mention, it was almost ALL of his warm weather clothes!

    It took me two days, half a bottle of vinegar, bleach, baking soda before I FINALLY got it all out with about a bottles-worth of Goo Gone and a ton of arm power.

    I am SOOOO going to remember the polish remover for pens!! Thanks for that!

  4. Colleen (Silly Panda) August 28, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    Oh man, I don’t know what I’d do if I found gum everywhere! I bet it was sticky. Yuck, yuck.

    That’s too bad about his warm weather clothes. I found a way to get the pen out of the clothes…maybe there is something for gum? I’m sure the answer is on the internet somewhere!

Leave a Reply

