I’m a Knitter!

6 Jan

Heh, so John wasn’t as enthusiastic about the road trip when I got home. I’m beginning to think that he didn’t think I was serious when I suggested the idea. And he said that there was no way we could drive to Alaska and back in one week. Not without rushing through the trip. Which isn’t what we want. So I might have to scale down that idea… I’m not giving up on it just yet.

This is just how we are… me with my heads in the clouds, and him with his feet firmly on the ground, politely tapping on my toes, reminding me of…well, reality. 🙂

— * —

In other news, for you “long-time” (lol) readers, you might remember that I won a bunch of knitting supplies in a little blogaversary contest. Well, I’ve been playing around with them, and I finally got the hang of knitting! Granted, I bought new size 13 needles because I’m not good at using the small ones, but whatever! I can knit!

My first project with the large needles was supposed to be a scarf for John, but I didn’t realize what a difference there would be between a 13 needle and an 8! The “scarf” was huuuuuge, and is more like a lap blanket! Of course, I went and finished it anyway. Three things of yarn* went into that thing! Now I have to make a couple more so we can have a throw. XD

Then, I started using the yarn I won to make myself something… a scarf and ear-warmer set! I think these came out really great. Next time though, I’ll make the ear-warmer first. That way I can just use the rest of the yarn up on making a longer scarf. The scarf isn’t short, but I have some yarn left over as it is now. I guess if I ever learn how to make fingerless gloves, I can use the left over yarn at the ends…

I am going to try to go to Chicks with Sticks this week and be social. Also, I don’t understand knitting patterns. Can anyone explain them to me?! Maybe I can ask the group…

* I really need to learn knitting terms…

4 Responses to “I’m a Knitter!”

  1. Jennifer January 6, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    Very nice! I love scarves-maybe I should learn how to knit.

  2. sillypanda January 6, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    It’s really not hard! Well, scarves aren’t hard anyway. I taught myself with the book I won.

  3. Amy Nieto January 7, 2009 at 2:45 am #

    DARLING!

Leave a Reply

