Adventures in Downtown

9 Jan

My usual lunch buddies haven’t been here this week for various reasons, so I’ve been on my own. Usually I spent lunch at my desk or in a meeting, but the weather was GORGEOUS today and I refused to stay indoors.

So I asked my tweeple (Twitter friends) where I should go and Kristen recommended Byblos Cafe on Main Street. When I looked it up on Google Maps, I saw that I could walk there in about 9 min. So I grabbed my camera and headed out for my downtown adventure.

The walk wasn’t bad, and it wasn’t too cold. One of my co-workers saw me walking while she was driving home and pulled over to ask me if I wanted a ride. I said that I wanted to walk and asked if she wanted to join me, but she said no b/c she was going to meet her boyfriend for lunch. We might be going on a double date to The Comedy Club tomorrow though, which that would be fun.

I found the cafe, no problem, (go me!) and proceeded to go inside and get confused by their ordering system. I didn’t know you had to order by the guys making the stuff and was waiting in the paying/cashier line for no reason. Heh.

The place was cool though. I ordered a pita pizza, and it was pretty good! Not something I would normally order, but hey – this was supposed to be an adventure, right?!

The walk back was much colder though because the sun was hiding behind buildings and the wind was coming straight at me. I just huddled dramatically over my pizza box and hurried back to Midtown.

Larger versions of these photos (& others!) can be found in my flicker.

I survived my downtown adventure. THE END! : D

4 Responses to “Adventures in Downtown”

  1. Charlene January 10, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    What a great idea – you got out of the office for a while – so needed – and tried something different – cool downtown photos and restaurant !!

  2. Nick January 11, 2009 at 4:13 am #

    See… this, this is exactly what I need on Rochester. The hidden spots that I wouldn’t even think to check. Looks interesting and kind of tasty.

  3. sillypanda January 11, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Mom – Thanks!

    Nick – You should do it! And blog about it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sometimes Lightning Misses « Coffee Musings - January 14, 2009

    […] what I want to do, and what I can do.   Essentially I need to figure out how to do what Silly Panda did in her downtown adventure, but with friends on extremely tight budget.  [She’s pretty awesome, […]

Leave a Reply

