My current knitting project

27 Feb

Two weeks after I said I would post it, I’m finally getting to blogging about my knitting project! LOL, well at least I’ve managed to blog every day this week…

Here she is! My accidental knitted towel that I decided to turn into a blanket. Right now I’m working on the squares, and will sew them to the towel-thing, granny square style.

So how did I “accidentally” make a knitted towel you ask? Well, it was the first thing I ever made on size 13 needles, and I didn’t realize what a difference the needle size made. I was originally going for a slightly over sized scarf…and got this. I don’t know why I even bothered to finish it. I should have just taken out the yarn and started over. But oh well. I casted it off the needles and wore it around the house like a shawl for a while.

It’s slow going, but every week I keep working on new squares at knitting club and while watching TV. (The bag is what I take to knitting club.) I’m just going to do two rows of the squares on each side, alternating between green, white, and black; and then a line of a solid color (not sure which one yet) and then try making a couple more towel-esque pieces. I think it should look like a lap blanket by then. I’m hoping to find yarn similar to the multi-colored yarn to use as a border. My friend Marya’s aunt is opening a yarn shop in Jamesville, so hopefully she’ll be able to use her insider knowledge and help me out.

2 Responses to “My current knitting project”

  1. Charlene March 1, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Love the table runner!!

  2. sillypanda March 3, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    Haha, I guess it could be a table runner. Eventually, it will be a blanket though.

Leave a Reply

