John Left on Tuesday. (Sorta)

7 May

He got picked up on Tuesday and spent the night in Buffalo. He flew out from there to GA Wednesday evening. I left work early yesterday so I could go hang out with him in the airport. We had dinner and I met his “battle buddy” for the trip. It was nice.

I took a long lunch on Tuesday so I could see him before he got picked up. I wasn’t planning on going to Buffalo yesterday, so I took lots of pictures, and we said what we thought were our goodbyes.

How foolish of me to think that would be enough when he was more or less an hour away the next day.

I sewed our last name onto the handle of his backpack and covered the messy backside with a yellow ribbon. The other soldiers had their names written on the back in sharpie. Unacceptable.

2 Responses to “John Left on Tuesday. (Sorta)”

  1. Charlene May 7, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    OMG! You can really tell he has been excercising!
    What has he been eating? He’s back to High School weight, I bet! Looks so healthy!!

    Love the strap on his backpack!! Nice Job!!

    He looks really happy!!! Glad you went to Buffalo!

    • sillypanda May 7, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

      He has been eating a very small breakfast, lots of fruits, a salad for lunch, and then whatever (within reason) he wants for dinner.

      I don’t think he’s at his high school weight, but I think he’s close. I always forget the exact number though.

      Thanks! I am glad I went to Buffalo too.

Leave a Reply

