Gardening

13 May

I’ve been thinking about how I want my garden to look. I think I want it to be on the left side of the yard, and kind of start by the Lilac tree and extend to include the other two tree nearest to it. I made a sketch at work… it’s pretty rough. I did it on the back of a piece of paper… that’s what the typing is.

Oh, and this also includes the plans for the deck.

Click to see full size

The dotted line in the drawing that goes around the tree signifies the border of the wall. Now, I’m not sure how I want the wall to look… I know I want stone, but do I want a tall brick wall, or just some more flat stones lining the way? I like both…

picture by The Empty Nest

picture by Barney’s Garden

I know that no matter which wall I go with I want the plants to be surrounded by a mix of natural wood mulch, moss, and stones scattered about.  How awesome is the wood mulch and moss garden below???  And I love the mix of green and stones in the bottom image.

moss garden picture from Victorian Garden Tours
wood chips from IPMomedia

photo by Annie Johnson

Have any of you guys had any experience working with moss as ground filler? (For lack of a better term, anyway) Can you buy it at the chain stores? I have never looked for it before… I’m totally new to gardening, so any tips you guys can give would be awesome.

7 Responses to “Gardening”

  1. Charlene May 16, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    Find a good nursery by your home – like we used to go to the nurseries in North Syracuse…they had moss and all sorts of healthy plants. It wasn’t until we moved to FL that I even bought plants at a Home Depot or Lowes! Very foreign concept. NY has SO MANY great nurseries, that I’d start there first!!

    • sillypanda May 18, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

      There is actually a nursery by the Home Depot!

  2. Amy Nieto May 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

    I wish i had a green thumb. It’s the blackest of blacks.

    • sillypanda May 18, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

      Heh, we’ll see what color mine ends up being. I could have all these plans that fall soooo flat.

  3. stephchows May 18, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    You should totally go to the garden factory, it’s in Gates and ROCKS. It gets crazy crowded on the weekends though. Link: http://gardenfactoryny.com/

    My belly is excited for Ethiopian tomorrow! And that’s awesome you got the couch you were interested in. 🙂

    • sillypanda May 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

      Ooooh, cool! I’ll have to check it out. I’m looking forward to tomorrow too! We’ll have to take lots of pictures.

  4. kloh May 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    I like your plan. I’ve been dreaming of what our garden would look like by now if I wasn’t spending everything on this wedding. Mike and I actually did a quick sketch of ours a few weeks ago – he’s just as into it as I am. I hope to work on it a little this summer and then get the real work done next summer. I love natural looking elements – the stone is great and so is the moss. I love moss. We’re hoping to grow it between cracks in the stone walking path we want to create. I’ve seen moss sold in nice size chunks at Home Depot, so you can totally get them at chain stores (probably cheaper that way). Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

