Hi, we’re from the internet

19 May

I met up with Stephanie, who saw my 20 Questions in the Insider, for lunch at Abyssinia today. I had never eaten Ethiopian food before, so I didn’t know what to expect. Well, my friend Jessica told me about when she went out an ate Ethiopian, so I guess I had a little but of an idea. But still, not really. I just knew there weren’t going to be forks.

And sure enough, no forks! Stephanie and I got “Special #1” which was made for two to share. The food was served on this pancake-like food, and the actual meat and veggies were on top. Then there were more pancake things rolled up in a basket, and you used those to pick up the food. It actually turn out to be pretty good! I had lamb for the first time and it is delicious. The beef (I think it was beef) was a little spicy for me though.  Also, that potato-looking thing is a hard boiled egg.  Raaaandom!

Us! And see Mom, I told you Stephanie was normal. 😉  We ended up taking a long lunch.  I was late to the meet-up and the servers were very…hands off, I guess you could say.

I used google maps to tell me how to get their and it was very very wrong.  Luckily I had my GPS with me, and I used that to get to the restaurant.  I think I could have walked there from work, so I’ll keep that in mind next time I want to go on another adventure downtown.

7 Responses to “Hi, we’re from the internet”

  1. Charlene May 19, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Very adventurous! Glad you had a nice time.

  2. stephchows May 20, 2009 at 2:48 pm #

    So much fun 🙂 I’ll let you pick the next place to try eating out at! I’m in 🙂

  3. LJC May 22, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    I have eaten there before – I thought the basket of rolled up pancakes looked like rows of sleeping puppies.

  4. Katy June 17, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Post more!! I keep checking back here and you’re still ‘from the internet!’ get back on the internet and update* girl!! I love reading your posts so come back 🙂

    *this from the girl who hasnt updated her LJ in about a year, but still!

    • sillypanda June 17, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

      Bah I know! I have so much to blog about but I just can’t find the time to sit down and do it! As it is, I’ve started leaving “place markers” over on my blog for John just so I remember what happened that day!

      • Katy June 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

        haha… i saw those over there 🙂

  5. Charlene June 24, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    Ditto – want more posts!! I’m sure you had very interesting visitors recently – who brought homes for your cats – hmmm…wonder if there are any GREAT photos of the cats in their houses – that you could share? LOL

Leave a Reply

