Family Day Outfit

6 Jul

I photoshopped this little mock-up of the outfit I was thinking of putting together to wear next week on Family Day, when I go down to GA for John’s basic training boot camp graduation. I can’t tell if it’s adorable (which I think it is) or if it accidentally mocks them. I just don’t want to trivialize the medals/stripey pins that real soldiers get that actually mean something… mine will just be embroidery thread glued to a Popsicle stick, lol.

I’ve already heard from my mom’s friend Linda, who is an military wife, and she likes it, even if the navy is “so air force.” So that’s good. What do you think?

Edit: I’ve decided not to wear the outfit. Maybe the dress, but not the whole thing with the ribbons and what not. An American flag pin, yes – and the army wife thing as a necklace. Much more subtle. My friend John who is in the navy pointed out that with all those ribbons, even though not real – it would look like I out ranked *my* John! LOL. Not good! Thanks for all of your input though!

One Response to “Family Day Outfit”

  1. stephchows July 8, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    Wicked cute dress πŸ™‚ I know the color stripes have a big meaning… so you may tread on some toes possibly with those… but I think if you did the rest of the pins / name tag it would be good to go. That’s my two cents πŸ™‚ Hey any change you like making jam? I’m doing a jam exchange http://stephchows.blogspot.com/2009/07/jam-exchange.html

    Have fun on your trip to visit!

Leave a Reply

