Yard Talk

26 Aug

I could have split this into a bunch of different posts… but I’m not going to. One of my neighbors brought over a bunch of raspberry bushes. Such a sweet old lady. When I finally planted them, I hoped for the best. I noticed that there was a teeny bit of tree stump left in the area I wanted to plant the raspberry bush in, so I just planed the little guys around it.

The smallest of the plants are starting to wither up though. I don’t know if I waited too long to plant them, or if it’s the tree stump that’s the cause, or if they just don’t like the dirt I put them in. I try to water them… maybe I’m over watering them? I don’t know. The larger ones seem fine. :-/

On the bright side though, yesterday, I noticed that my cherry tomato plant had a couple red tomatoes on it! Awesome! I meant to pick them yesterday, but forgot. Tonight, I guess.

In other yard work news, I spent a good part of the summer cleaning up the plants that were already in my yard. I trimmed the hedges on all sides of my house, and dug up the broken lights on the front right side. (I haven’t gotten to the front left side yet.) I don’t know how to fully get rid of them though… they aren’t plugged in like normal; there is just a box on the side of my house. *sigh*

I am wondering if it’s possible to trim shrubs too closely… patches of some of mine are turning brown. It’s really weird and not what I wanted.

For two weeks, on Friday, (but not last Friday) someone would come and mow my lawn! It was the weirdest thing! My lawn wasn’t over grown or anything… In fact, the days they mowed were the same days I had planned to mow.

I actually came home from work the second Friday to mow, instead of just going out with friends after work, and was almost upset that it was mowed. Just because I came all the way home for nothing. But that was dumb, so instead of being mad, I made a thank you sign at the end of my driveway with sidewalk chalk that wound up in my backyard somehow.

And I think that catches me up on all yard-related updates.  Some of the flowers I planted over Memorial Day weekend have died by now, so I am contemplating buying some replacement flowers.  But it might be too late in the summer at this point.  Thoughts?

4 Responses to “Yard Talk”

  1. ljc August 26, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    Fall isn’t too late for flowers! Perfect time for mums.

    • sillypanda August 28, 2009 at 3:08 pm #

      Oooh, I’ll have to get some of those. 🙂

  2. Charlene August 27, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    The yard looks great!

Leave a Reply

