RIP Dune

12 Oct

Dune lost his battle to cancer (?) on October 1st, 2009, right before I left for the airport to go visit John for his OCS graduation.

He was a good little boy, who lived a good life, and we will miss him dearly.

Towards the end, he was very mopey and didn’t move around much, but not so much that his passing didn’t come as a surprise. He was only 6 years old. We loved him very much, but are grateful that he didn’t pass while we were both away. I was able to stay up with him on his last night.

John and I laid him to rest on Saturday when we both got home. (John has leave until the 28th.)

Goodbye Dune, we will miss you.

6 Responses to “RIP Dune”

  1. ljc October 12, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about Dune. He was a very cute kitty.

  2. Rob Baum October 12, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    I’m really sorry to both of you. I remember Dune as a kitty and using him to turn on and off the hall light back at John and Chris’ apartment. He will always have a space in my heart as him and Twilight are the reasons I love Maine Coons. He was a handsome cat and very loving. I’m so sorry the two of you have to experience this. Goodbye Dune, I too, will miss you.

  3. Charlene October 20, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    Dune will always be with you…just like Swift is always with us. Glad we both have lots of photos!!
    Can’t wait to see you and meet KIP!!

  4. Katy November 9, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    Oh Colleen,
    I’ve only jsut seen this post as I’ve been without internet for so long. I’m so sorry to hear about Dune, it’s always horrible to lose a pet, but as you said, at least you were there with him on his last night.
    ~Katy

  5. WeeMason's Mom October 11, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    He was so beautiful 😦 I’m so sorry for your loss and that you had to be alone afterwards – I thought having P at work this weekend was bad enough on my end….. He looks like he was a great kitty

Leave a Reply

