I Made Sushi! (Kinda)

17 Dec

John came home today for the Christmas holiday! He’ll be here until the 31st. 😀

I tried my hand at making some sushi. I have had this sushi making kit and Asian dining set for ages, but I avoided trying to make sushi because I didn’t know where to get sushi grade fish. So, I made carrot and cucumber rolls instead.

I used brown rice because that’s what I had, but I cooked it for a while to make it sticky. I ended up cutting waaaay too much cucumber and carrot. It was a pain to do since I didn’t want to use a grater or anything. I should have just cut up half the cucumber. Oh well.  I made rolls and then one cone for each of us.

It ended up being really messy, and the rolls didn’t want to stay together. I tried using water to make the seaweed sticky, I tried putting rice along one edge since that was sticky, but I ended up just having to smush it. Plus, I don’t think my knife was sharp enough, because it broke my rolls most of the time when I tried to cut them. That’s why you see those random edges of rice sticking out of my rolls.  😦

But they still tasted good, and I guess that’s what’s important, right?!

2 Responses to “I Made Sushi! (Kinda)”

  1. Charlene Maville December 30, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    I think your sushi trays looked very artsy – and as long as the rolls tasted good…that’s the important part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

