Lunch Talk

4 Feb

With my being pregnant, I’ve begun to eat A LOT healthier. Which means I can’t go down to Sweet Dawn‘s anymore, and that I have to bring my own food from home. For the first trimester, I brought all pre-packaged stuff, and it made me so sad that I was creating so much waste! When I ate at Sweet Dawn’s, I would bring my own plate, so they didn’t have to use a Styrofoam container, but when I stopped going I had all kinds of containers to throw away:

  • plastic milk bottle a day
  • orange juice carton a day
  • protein drink bottle
  • yogurt containers
  • cottage cheese containers
  • apple sauce containers
  • plastic bags for my sandwiches
  • plastic bags for my carrot sticks
  • plastic bags for my celery sticks

I would look for containers to reuse, but I could only find the big “typical” Tupperware containers. That’s not what I wanted! I wanted something I could put cottage cheese and yogurt into! Truth be told, I have had a sandwich container for a while now, but I really should have bought more than one because I’m not all that great at washing it every day.  I also bought a snack container that I could put my carrots into, but again… issue with the lack of washing it.  :-/

When I was at Wegmans earlier this week though, I had a genius thought! Why not check the BABY section and see what they have??? And sure enough, I got a six pack of containers in the “yogurt” size that I wanted for $2.99. That’s what the orange container is.  The regular Tupperware ones were like $3.99 each. Win! Next time I go, I have to buy another pack so I can buy a big container of cottage cheese and do the same thing.

The pink container is awesome too. I got it at the dollar store, and it has two compartments in it. I use the bigger bottom section for my salad, and the top section for salad toppings (dried cranberries, cheese, cucumbers, etc.) and then I mix them in a bowl that I keep in my office.  Sometimes I put other snacks in there though, like today; I just had dried fruit.

I also bought a travel mug to put my orange juice in. I need to buy a couple more though, as I still need something to hold my milk and I would like to start bringing V8 juice to work. I used to bring little cans of it, but I stopped because the amount of trash in my garbage can was just too much for me to bear! This particular travel mug is nice because it comes 100% apart, so it’s really easy to clean. Once I get the other travel mugs, this one will become my milk mug.

Geez I eat a lot.  It’s 5:00 now and I’ve only got my apple and carrots left…and I’m about to eat the carrots!

2 Responses to “Lunch Talk”

  1. Charlene Maville February 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Love the “cherry-themed” travel mug

Leave a Reply

