Baby Shower – Food & Decorations

23 Jun

The first of the decorations is the wreath I made to hang on the front door. This is a little dollar store creation, and I really like it in it’s simplicity. Just a Styrofoam wreath, a couple shades of ribbon, a gift wrap bow, and some plastic baby rattles.  I used straight pins instead of glue too, so I can take the baby stuff off and use the wreath for something else.

Another project I did was the card garland. It was super easy, and I think it turned out really well. All I did was take some wooden clothes pins, trace the size of the top onto some scrapbooking paper, cut out all the little strips, glue the paper to the clothes pin, and clip them on a ribbon I’d hung to the wall. If I had more time, I probably would have coated them with some mod podge or something, but they are still hanging in my dining room and still going strong, so I didn’t need to. During the opening of presents, my mom would go over and pin up the cards so they added to the decoration!

The fabric hanging is (are?) some faux-quilt blocks I drew up and had printed by Spoonflower in Mario Brothers fabric I designed.  They came out really well, except my red is neon orange (boo you Spoonflower and your hatred of red!) and I made the Mario characters waaaay too small in one of my “fabric” patterns.  I didn’t really do the math right on how small they would actually be when they printed.  It still looks really cute though, and I can’t wait to use them in my baby quilt.

Now onto food!  We kept things pretty simple: bite-sized chicken salad sandwiches, tuna mac, veggies and dip, fresh fruit, and cupcakes.  Probably the fanciest thing was the baguettes with a cheese and bacon sauce, and that wasn’t even really fancy because the sauce came premade from Wegmans!

Do you like my Mario Brothers centerpiece?  My mom and I were in Toys-R-Us looking for Mario plates and things and we found those.  The way we rushed at those figurines, you would have thought we were in a desert and the dolls were filled with water.  Haha.

I made the cupcakes look like the mushrooms from the game. Well, I tried to anyway. The frosting demanded that it stay a little pastel. Oh well, it got the point across.  To make the spots, I used white chocolate wafers and white M&Ms.

And that’s that. There is another woman at work who is pregnant, and a guy who’s wife is pregnant, and all the people at work threw the three of us a baby shower. Do you guys want to see pictures of that, or should I just stick to crafty things? Comment and let me know. Until then, see you next time!

2 Responses to “Baby Shower – Food & Decorations”

  1. Katy June 24, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Of course we want pictures of the work baby shower!! Or at least I do 🙂

    • sillypanda August 2, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

      Ha, ok! I have to find the CD though. It’s not with the baby journal anymore. 😦

Leave a Reply

