Cloth Diaper Inserts

20 Aug

I am trying cloth diapers with S. I bought a bunch of different brands from people off craigslist, and so far I really like Kissaluvs because they are the smallest, so they fit him the best and are less bulky. A lot of the ones that are supposed to fit the baby the whole time they wear diapers are SO bulky! These, since they’re for newborns, aren’t. They’re still bulkier than disposables, but they’re not bad.

However, since those are made with …organic cotton? Cotton fleece? (I don’t know for sure since they’re second hand.) and my guy is a little pee-er, I found that I could only keep him in the diaper an hour before he would need to be changed. I really wanted him to be good for at least two hours. My other diaper brands have inserts, so I thought I’d make him a couple for the Kissaluvs.

Actually, they’re kind of like maxi pads, aren’t they? (lol) I used fabrics from my stash – some checkerboard fabric for the outside, and fleece, and knit (like sweater knit, not t-shirt knit) fabric for the absorbent middle.  Then I sewed around the edges and quilted the main part. I had never quilted anything before, and I think you can see that in the oval stitching. I wasn’t going to worry about it though, since they were just going on my baby’s butt.

I wasn’t sure how absorbent these would be, and I wanted to wait until I had bias tape on the sides to try them out, but I got too impatient. They ended up buying me half an hour, so I think if I make the next batch a little thicker, I’ll be in good shape!

Now I just need to buy a bias tape maker!

2 Responses to “Cloth Diaper Inserts”

  1. Shari August 23, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    You are very brave. Dave wanted to try cloth diapering…but I couldn’t handle it. I did tons of reearch and it’s just too much ew for me. Also, too much of a hassel.

    However, good for you! Save our environment!

  2. sillypanda September 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Haha thanks! You know, the “yucky” aspect of it really isn’t that bad. 😉

Leave a Reply

