Craftin’ Chair

6 Sep

Since I’ve been home on maternity leave, I’ve been going to thrift stores more often. Instead of maybe once a month, I’ll go maybe once a week. It’s been great!

On one trip I saw this chair and thought it would be a really cute replacement for the kitchen chair I’ve been using at my sewing desk. To keep my spending in check when I go out, I always think of a price for what I’m interested in before I pick it up. What I’m willing to spend, if you will, and since I didn’t REALLY need this chair, and it needed to be repainted and the seat recovered (you can’t quite tell from the photo, but it was in rough shape.) I decided I wouldn’t pay more than a dollar. I flipped it around and saw – $7??? What? Pass.

So I bet you’re wondering how I came home with it then? The next time I went to that thrift store, I checked it out again and saw this scribbled on the back of it: $6.99 $4.98 $3.50 $1.99 .99!

Mine! It took them long enough, but it was finally marked down to my price. I bought some cute fabric that was on sale at JoAnn’s ($1.50) and two cans of spray paint ($6) and had myself a cute new chair for less than $10.

Of course this simple project couldn’t just be simple. I started it on Thursday spraying the primer coat of spray paint. This went fine. I was worried that all the drawing on the back wouldn’t come off, but it eventually covered nicely.

Once I was done spraying the primer on, I went inside to recover the seat. I added some padding that I had left over from remaking the couch cushions so that I had a softer seat. This went ok too, except I put the material on backwards first, so the birds faced the back of the chair. D’oh!

I learned from my mistakes in applying the primer and went a lot slower with the yellow on Friday, making sure to watch for drips and actually taking the time to let the paint dry in between layers.

I went out to lunch in between layers too, then to work to show off S, and when I got back home, I found that it had rained at my house…quite a bit. So I moved the chair into the garage so it could dry off again, and finished painting it on Saturday.

While I was spraying the yellow layer, I also spray painted a frame for the nursery, but I’ll get to that later. 😉

It took longer than I had planned (I originally wanted this to be my Friday post.) but I really like how it came out in the end. The only thing I would have done differently is actually sand down the chair first. The paint is sticking, but there are some areas where the wood is chipping, and I think sanding it would have corrected those flaws. They’re not noticeable though, unless you inspect it, so I ultimately don’t mind.

What do you think of my new chair? A nice addition, yes?

PS: Happy Labor Day!

4 Responses to “Craftin’ Chair”

  1. Shari September 7, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I *love* the new chair! I really like the fabric…very festive.

    • sillypanda September 7, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

      Thank you! I love the little birdies!

  2. Charlene September 12, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Talk about playing the Fate Game!!
    99 cents…that’s crazy!!
    AND the chair is great!

Leave a Reply

